2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 20162017 | 2018 | 2019

Xcaret Honored with the 2018 Applause Award

Press release 2018-11-13

Applause Award


Biannually, since 1980, the prestigious Applause Award honours a park whose management, operations and creative accomplishments have inspired the industry with foresight, originality and sound business development.

The winner of the 2018 Applause Award is Xcaret, Mexico:

“With an original and creative vision, Xcaret has created one of the most unique and authentic park destinations in the world. The park is balancing world class experiences, based on native culture and natural attractions, with sustainable operations and a strong commitment to the local community.” says Andreas Veilstrup Andersen, President and CEO, Liseberg Group and Chairman of The Applause Award Board of Governors.

The Applause Award was presented today at the opening ceremony of IAAPA Attractions Expo 2018 in Orlando, Florida. With the award, Xcaret joins the ranks amongst the absolute best amusement and theme parks in the world.

Previous winners of The Applause Award:

1980 Magic Kingdom, Walt Disney World, USA

1982 Opryland, USA

1986 Epcot Center, USA

1988 Knott´s Berry Farm, USA

1990 EuropaPark, Germany

1992 Efteling, the Netherlands

1994 Universal Studios, Florida, USA

1996 Cedar Point, USA

1998 Silver Dollar City, USA

2000 Hershey Park, USA

2002 Busch Gardens, Williamsburg, USA

2004 Holiday World & Splashing Safari, USA

2006 Universal´s Islands of Adventure, USA

2008 Xetulul, Guatemala

2010 Dollywood, USA

2012 Ocean Park, Hong Kong

2014 Puy du Fou, France

2016 Busch Gardens Tampa, USA

For more information: 

Andreas Veilstrup Andersen mobile +46 761 00 8000 / andreas.andersen@liseberg.se