2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 20162017 | 2018 | 2019

Chip Cleary to Chair IAAPA Board of Directors for 2010

November 17, 2009

Chip Cleary to Chair IAAPA Board of Directors for 2010
Robert Rippy, Roland Mack, and Will Morey to Serve as Vice Chairmen

Las Vegas, Nevada (United States) – The International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) today announced Chip Cleary, senior vice president of operations at Splish Splash/Palace Entertainment/Parques Reuinidos, was officially elected IAAPA chair of the board for 2010.

A veteran of the industry, Cleary has managed attractions ranging from amusement parks to waterparks for more than 30 years. He has served as vice president of Adventureland Amusement Park in Farmingdale, New York, United States, where he oversaw the rebuilding and operation of the park, and in 1990, he supervised the construction of Splish Splash Waterpark in Long Island, New York, United States, and acted as the park’s president until 1999. Cleary and his partners sold the park to Palace Entertainment in 1999, when Cleary joined the company as vice president of the waterpark division. Palace Entertainment was purchased by Parques Reunidos and Cleary was named senior vice president to oversee 10 waterparks and three theme parks in the United States.

The board of directors also confirmed the election of following officers for the organization for 2010: Robert Rippy, president of Jungle Rapids (Wilmington, North Carolina, United States) – first vice chairman; Roland Mack, managing director of Europa-Park (Rust, Germany) – second vice chairman; Will Morey, president and CEO of Morey’s Piers (Wildwood, New Jersey, United States) – third vice chairman; and Frank O’Connell, general manager of Hersheypark (Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States) – treasurer. Charlie Bray is president and CEO of IAAPA.

In addition, the following IAAPA members were elected to the board of directors at the association’s annual business meeting:
Ed Carroll – IAAPA Advisory Board
Court Huish – Boondocks Family Fun Center, United States
Pelle Johannisson – Liseberg, Sweden
Phil Lindsey – The Health Museum, United States
Adrian Mahon – Merlin Entertainments, United Kingdom
Donnie Mills – Busch Entertainment Corporation, United States
Paul Noland – Walt Disney Parks and Resorts, United States
Greg O’Neill – Amusement Rides Australia, Australia
Tim Timco – Worldwide Ticketcraft, United States

IAAPA is the premier trade association for the attractions industry worldwide. Founded more than 90 years ago, IAAPA is the largest international trade association for permanently situated amusement facilities and attractions, and is dedicated to the preservation and prosperity of the attractions industry. IAAPA represents more than 4,000 member facilities from 90 countries throughout the world.


Contact Information
Press Office: +1 703/299-5127
Marion Hixon: mhixon@IAAPA.org
David Mandt: dmandt@IAAPA.org
Colleen Mangone: cmangone@IAAPA.org
Nicholas Wolaver: nicholas.wolaver@edelman.com