IAAPA 2009 Big E Awards Recognize Top-Notch Live Entertainment in the Attractions Industry

IAAPA News
November 18, 2009

IAAPA 2009 Big E Awards Recognize Top-Notch Live Entertainment
in the Attractions Industry
Europe, Japan, and United States Productions Stand Out in 2009

Las Vegas, Nevada (United States) – Today, the International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA) announced the winners of its Big E Awards at IAAPA Attractions Expo 2009. In its eleventh year, the awards honor the best in live entertainment at amusement parks and attractions throughout the world. Held at the Renaissance Las Vegas Hotel, the ceremony kicked off with Las Vegas-grandeur featuring performances by “Jubilee!” show girls, “Le Grande Cirque” performers, and popular Las Vegas magician Jason Byrne.

The 15 categories recognized productions, individual performers, sports, edutainment, and spirit. The Big E Awards were sponsored by Heartbeat Productions, Inc., Matt Davenport Productions, Inc., and RWS and Associates Entertainment, Inc. A complete list of award winners and honorable mention recipients for the 2009 Big E Awards follows:

Best Overall Production, More Than $2 million
Winner: “The Gift of Angles,” Universal Studios Japan; Osaka City, Osaka, Japan;www.usj.co.jp/e 
Honorable Mention: “Magical Starlight Parade,” Universal Studios Japan; Osaka City, Osaka, Japan; www.usj.co.jp/e 

Best Overall Production, $1 million – $2 million
Winner: “Hot Ice,” Pleasure Beach, Blackpool; Blackpool, United Kingdom;www.blackpoolpleasurebeach.com 

Best Overall Production, $500,001 – $1 million
Winner: “Forbidden,” Pleasure Beach, Blackpool; Blackpool, United Kingdom;www.blackpoolpleasurebeach.com 
Honorable Mention: “Cirque de la Mer,” SeaWorld San Diego; San Diego, California, United States; www.seaworldsandiego.com

Best Overall Production, $300,001 – $500,000
Winner: “Take Flight - An Avian Adventure,” San Diego Zoo; San Diego, California, United States; www.sandiegozoo.org 
Honorable Mention: “Matt Hoffman's Danger Defying Daredevils,” Six Flags Magic Mountain; Los Angeles, California, United States; www.sixflags.com/magicmountain 

Best Overall Production, $150,001 – $300,000
Winner: “Headin’ West,” Silver Dollar City; Branson, Missouri, United States;www.silverdollarcity.com 
Honorable Mention: “Christian Farla Live! Magic Show,” Walibi World; Biddinghuizen, Netherlands; www.walibi.com/walibiworld 

Best Overall Production, $50,001 – $150,000
Winner: “Pure Country Radio,” Six Flags Over Georgia; Atlanta, Georgia, United States,www.sixflags.com/overgeorgia 
Honorable Mention: “The Jeerk Show,” Silver Dollar City; Branson, Missouri, United States;www.silverdollarcity.com 

Best Overall Production, $25,001 – $50,000
Winner: “The Soda Pops,” Hersheypark; Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States;www.hersheypark.com 
Honorable Mention: “Creature Feature,” Six Flags Fiesta Texas; San Antonio, Texas, United States; www.sixflags.com/fiestatexas 

Best Overall Production, $25,000 or Less
Winner: “Bunsen & The Burners,” Hersheypark; Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States;www.hersheypark.com 
Honorable Mention: “Grand Tournament of Champions,” Legoland California; Carlsbad, California, United States; www.legoland.com/california 

Best Atmosphere/Street Performer
Winner: “Funsation Celebration,” Dutch Wonderland; Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States,www.dutchwonderland.com 
Honorable Mention: “Gem Tones,” Dollywood; Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States;www.dollywood.com 

Best Sports Show
Winner: “Brown Entertainment's Cirque Magnifίque,” Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk; Santa Cruz, California, United States; www.beachboardwalk.com 
Honorable Mention: “Winter Wonderland on Ice,” Silverwood Theme Park; Athol, Idaho, United States; www.silverwoodthemepark.com 

Best Live Edutainment Show
Winner: “Creature Adventures Starring The Kratt Brothers,” Dollywood; Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States; www.dollywood.com 
Honorable Mention: “The Jungle Rumble - Going Green Edition,” Six Flags Great Adventure; Jackson, New Jersey, United States; www.sixflags.com/greatadventure 

Heartbeat Award
Winner: “Sha-Kon-O-Hey!;” Dollywood; Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States;www.dollywood.com

Spirit Award
Winner: Chris Ambraz, Busch Gardens Tampa; Tampa, Florida, United States;www.buschgardens.com/bgt2 

Best Female Performer
Winner: Renee Schee, Six Flags Fiesta Texas; San Antonio, Texas, United States;www.sixflags.com/fiestatexas 
Honorable Mention: Samantha Freistat, Hersheypark; Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States;www.hersheypark.com

Best Male Performer
Winner: Gabriel Myers, Dollywood; Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, United States;www.dollywood.com 
Honorable Mention: Wong Tsz Kwan, Ocean Park Hong Kong; Aberdeen, Hong Kong;www.oceanpark.com.hk

About IAAPA Attractions Expo 2009
IAAPA Attractions Expo 2009 is the largest conference and trade show for the amusement park and attractions industry in the world. With its theme “Bright Lights, Big Show: The Main Attraction,” the show takes place for the first time in Las Vegas, and draws industry professionals from more than 85 countries to the Las Vegas Convention Center from Monday, Nov. 16, through Friday, Nov. 20. The trade show floor is open Tuesday, Nov. 17, through Friday, Nov. 20. IAAPA Attractions Expo 2009 offers a solid week of business and fun. The event also includes educational sessions, behind-the-scenes tours, marquee social events, and networking opportunities. This is the marketplace where amusement and attraction industry leaders, decision makers, and visionaries gather to network, view the latest innovations, and plan for the future. For more information, visitwww.IAAPA.org/expos/attractions.

About IAAPA
IAAPA is the premier trade association for the attractions industry worldwide. Founded more than 90 years ago, IAAPA is the largest international trade association for permanently situated amusement facilities and attractions, and is dedicated to the preservation and prosperity of the attractions industry. IAAPA represents more than 4,000 member facilities from 90 countries throughout the world.

###

Logos and images from IAAPA Attractions Expo 2009 can be downloaded from the onlineIAAPA Attractions Expo 2009 press kit.

Contact Information
Press Office: +1 703/299-5127
Marion Hixon: mhixon@IAAPA.org
David Mandt: dmandt@IAAPA.org
Colleen Mangone: cmangone@IAAPA.org
Nicholas Wolaver: nicholas.wolaver@edelman.com
Rachel Rosenberg: rachel.rosenberg@edelman.com