IAAPA Hall of Fame Awards 

2017 IAAPA Hall of Fame Award

The IAAPA Hall of Fame was established in 1990 to celebrate outstanding achievement and contributions to the growth and development of the amusement park and attractions industry; an industry that, like few others, depends on the imaginations, talents, and vision of its dream builders.  Since that time, dozens of industry pioneers have been honored.

The IAAPA Hall of Fame inductees are not chosen by virtue of their personal success alone but rather for significant contributions to the entire industry. Nominees may be living or deceased.

To be considered for the IAAPA Hall of Fame, a nominee must:

  • Have been associated with the attractions industry, preferably for a minimum period of 10 years.
  • Have been associated with a theme or amusement park, water park, family entertainment center, zoo, aquarium, museum, science center, resort, or other attraction, manufacturer, supplier, or designer.
  • Have made a significant contribution to the worldwide attractions industry that has provided innovation, education, leadership, and/or influence both inside his/her organization AND within the industry in a manner that will continue to be of value in the future. Examples include contributions to the attractions industry at large such as: 1) Literary contribution; 2) Design or invention of material equipment, processes, or technical services; 3) Innovation in conjunction with attractions, rides, exhibitions, entertainment, food, merchandise, games, engineering, or safety; or 4) Be a well-known individual who has significantly contributed to the success and inspiration of other leaders in the global industry.

The 2017 IAAPA Hall of Fame Award will be presented on Tuesday, November 14, 2017, during the Kickoff Event at IAAPA Attractions Expo 2017 in Orlando, Florida. Expo registration is required to attend this event.  

If you have questions about how to nominate someone, contact Jan McCool at +1 703/299-5747 or jmccool@iaapa.org

2016 Hall of Fame Award

The 2016 IAAPA Hall of Fame Awards were presented during the Kickoff Event at IAAPA Attractions Expo 2016 in Orlando, Florida, on Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2016, to: 

Roland Mack, Park Co-Founder and Innovative Manufacturer, Europa-Park/Mack Rides, Rust, Germany

Tim O'Brien, Attractions Industry Journalist and Photographer, Nashville, Tennessee, United States

To learn more about the 2016 IAAPA Hall of Fame Award recipients, as well as all past recipients, click here.

Learn more about other IAAPA Awards:
IAAPA Service Awards
IAAPA Brass Ring Awards
IAAPA Young Professional of the Year Award